BBL 2020-21: Mitchell Swepson recommits to Brisbane Heat for three seasons | iGaming insider

Get 100 Deposit Bonus

BBL 2020-21: Mitchell Swepson recommits to Brisbane Heat for three seasons

BBL 2020-21: Mitchell Swepson recommits to Brisbane Heat for three seasons

Leg-spinner Mitchell Swepson has re-engaged for three more seasons to the Brisbane Heat as the contracting window of the KFC BBL opened. 

With Swepson the first announcement of this signing period, the lifting of the contracting embargo is expected to spark a flurry of international and local signings in the coming weeks and months.

The leg-spinner, who played one T20 in 2018 for Australia and was a part of their Test squad for this year’s postponed Bangladesh tour, is the all-time fourth-highest wicket-taker of the Brisbane Heat.

With batting powerhouses Chris Lynn and Tom Banton already locked in having previously signed multi-year contracts, the Brisbane Heat has now filled half of their 18 contract slots for this season.

There has been media speculation that the uncontracted duo James Pattinson and Matt Renshaw could look for new clubs  – Pattinson beijing linked to the Renegades, Renshaw the Strikers, and the Brisbane Heat will also plans to bring back AB de Villiers, South African superstar after his short stint last season.

In the past seven seasons, the Heat have made the play-offs just once, a record that their skipper Lynn and coach Darren Lehmann will be desperate to change this summer. 

Darren Lehmann told the media that, “A home-grown spinner who knows how to bowl at the Gabba, and performs well there, was an absolute must when it came to put the squad together.”

He pointed out that Swep has learned a lot from the international spinners he’s played with, from the likes of Yasir Shah, Shadab Khan, Zahir Khan and  Mujeeb, and he’s improved his abilities of skills and mental preparation along the way. 

Lehmann added that Swep is a very versatile  spinner capable of attacking but also building pressure, and that’s quite a skill to call on in T20 cricket competition.

Brisbane Heat BBL 2020-21 squad (so far):  Chris Lynn, Max Bryant, Tom Banton (Eng), Matthew Kuhnemann, Joe Burns, Ben Cutting, Jimmy Peirson, Ben Laughlin, Mitchell Swepson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *