List of Five-Wicket Hauls Players on Bangladesh Premier League | iGaming insider

Get 100 Deposit Bonus

Mohammad Sami

List of Five-Wicket Hauls Players on Bangladesh Premier League

List of Five-Wicket Hauls Players on Bangladesh Premier League

In Cricket, when a player takes five or more wickets in a single innings, he will be granted the Five-Wicket Haul or Five-For (some refers to fifer) title. This is a notable recognition to a cricket player. The Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) is a professional T20 cricket league in Bangladesh that has been played every year since its first start in 2012. It was suspended in 2014 due to a match fixing scandal and resumed in 2015 for the third season of the league.

Bangladesh Premier League has completed five seasons so far and eleven five-wicket hauls have been taken by different bowlers. There are a total nine players from fifteen teams who have taken the five-wicket haul recognition. They are Barisal Bulls, Duronto Rajshahi, Rangpur Riders, Chittagong Vikings, Comilla Victorians, Dhaka Dynamites, Rajshahi Kings, Khulna Titans and Sylhet Sixers. Mohammad Sami from the Duronto Rajshahi team took the first five-wicket haul on 27 February 2012 against Dhaka Gladiators. In the competition Mohammad Sami took five wickets for six runs and became the best bowling figure in an inning in the match. His five-wicket haul was also the most economical one with an economy rate of 1.80 and average 1.20 bowling rate during the match.

On 3 December 2017, Nasir Hossain of the Sylhet Sixers against Chittagong Vikings in Dhaka took the most recent five-wicket haul. Among all players, Al-Amin Hossain took the least economical five-wicket haul, bowling with an economy rate of 9.00. There are no players who take more than once five-wicket haul yet. While players from the Barisal Bulls and the Rajshahi Kings took two five-wicket haul respectively which is the highest record so far.

Although, if the statistics of all 15 teams are taken into account, Rajshahi franchise players are the highest number of five-wheel hauls record holders. This feat was accomplished by one player from Duronto Rajshahi and two players from Rajshahi Kings. Nine five-wicket hauls have been conducted at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium. In the competition, a total of thirty-seven four-wicket hauls have been conducted while twelve of which were taken in fewer than four overs. There are two players in Bangladesh Premier League who took a hat-trick and a five wicket haul together which is Al-Amin Hossain of Barisal Bulls.

BPL5 which is the 2017 season has seen the most number of five-wicket hauls in a single season. There were four five wickets being conducted in that season. While the 2013 and 2019 seasons being the season with the least number of five-wicket hauls where no bowler could pick up a five-wicket haul. Statistics showed that when a player strikes a five-wicket haul there is a higher chance of winning, which eight times out of eleven times a team has won according to past record. Shakib Al Hasan and Nasir Hossain is the only captain who took a five-wicket haul while captaining their team. According to the past record, Thisara Perera a Sri Lanka player is the only cricketer who took multiple five-wicket hauls.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *